Happy Valentine’s Day

What an over rated day today is . I never was one to like to be told what to do . So when it comes to holidays I don’t celebrate them the same . When I first got married , my husband and I celebrated every holiday on the calender . Did I mention we had no money and I was on WIC .

So to get on with the story as my husband and I started to grow spiritually we seem to get less attached to the calander holidays . We were understanding the importance of celebrating life everyday and not just on special occasions . We understood the waste of money that holidays cost . The fact that others make a ridiculous profit from hard working 🙂 people on a day that we are told to celebrate is fascinating to me . Slowly we weened ourselves off the holidays . We started to appreciated each other and the loved ones around us all the time . Random flowers and nice dinners . Cards of gratitude don’t have to wait for a holiday to be shared .

We are parents and I think we are really setting a presence with our children of what is really important in life . That is not to let it fly by you . Let it not be the world that dictates to you when you should let someone know you love them . Let it be a way of life . Be good to others everyday . Make everyday a day to celebrate 🙂 .

Life is GOOD !

2 Comments

Filed under journey in life, life, Life is Good, out of the box, results

2 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Hi Dana!

    Valentine’s Day is such a bad joke. Kind of like a mafioso going to confession and expecting his sins to be forgiven because he says a few Hail Marys every Sunday…

    There’s even a movie out now where the premise is everyone whining about not having a date for Valentine’s Day. Of course, you know they’ll all hook up in the end anyways (BARF!).

    Celebrate LIFE and living. Holidays are signposts only (and most people don’t even know that most holidays are based on ancient pagan rituals anyway!). If you want to acknowledge a signpost – so be it – but don’t forget that the JOURNEY is what counts!

    Nice post!

    Cheers!

    – Don

Leave a comment